Mackerel Skies

Dear Diary,

We have been having a string of lovely days.  A bit coolish but quite pleasant.  Mackerel skies usually predict a weather change and sometimes showers.  "Mackerel skies, mackerel skies, sometimes wet and sometimes dry." 

Mackerel were my parent's favorite fish and my dad taught me to properly clean a fish when I was young.  In my new computer game Walden, I spend a lot of time on the shores of the pond fishing.  I earned quite a bit of money catching fish specimens for Prof. Agassiz of Harvard.  He founded the department of natural sciences there and there is an Agassiz Hall on campus.  I took a class in that venerable building in 1979.

I will start paying a lot more attention to the sky in the next week as I am planning a trip with a dear friend to Ogunquit, Maine next week.  A last summer fling before autumn sets in and I have to start thinking about surgery.  I hope, as the sailors say around here, we have fair winds and following seas! 

“Time is but the stream I go a-fishing in. I drink at it; but while I drink I see the sandy bottom and detect how shallow it is. Its thin current slides away, but eternity remains.” ~ “Where I Lived, and What I Lived For,” Walden - Henry David Thoreau

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.