Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

Tides of time

I normally cycle to work, along the cycle path to Canonmills - where I do believe they used to make canons - and up into town via Dublin street. In times gone by I could have done almost the exact same route on a train as the cycle paths are old rail lines. Today, and for a few days, I've walked in and enjoyed the slower pace and the ability to see new things.

Hidden away and not often noticed there are still working railways that snake around. The suburban railway on the southside of the city has in the recent past carried nuclear materials - much to the horror of the genteel folk of Morningside - thankfully the one in this shot doesn't carry anything quite so toxic.

This line carries rubbish to the Powderhall depot, where all the street sweeping vans call home. It crosses Leith walk at Shrubhill and heads towards Easter Road and Meadowbank. From there I would imagine it goes onwards towards Portobello but beyond that I do not know.

almost blip: at the school gates

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.