Gluten free crepes!

This is a most wonderful sight for me, even if it looks a bit like squashed and scrambled octopus to you. These are two gluten free crepes prepared for me at Cafe Puerto Rico.

The waiters asked a Spanish customer to translate for me when I brought them a packet of gluten free flour, that I had found in Acima supermarket yesterday afternoon. I had been intending merely to show them the flour but then they asked me if I wanted something cooked with it.

The Spaniard explained to them that the cooking pan had to be totally clean and away we went. I explained that the flour was not strong like wheat flour, which went some way to help the poor chef who was very disappointed in how the crepes turned out.

I wasn't disappointed. Au contraire, I thoroughly enjoyed my first pancakes made for me in a cafe in Tangier.

The Spaniard knew all about the reason for Sin Gluten. He said people in Spain complained of stomach problems when all the time it's the gluten in wheat flour that is responsible.

Woken at 5.30 am by a stream of cars outside chasing a wedding car. It finally came down our street. Girls were hanging outside the pursuing cars dangerously. At least I saw the dawn.

We must take the hire car back now to avoid a totally gratuitous charge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.