The Stepping Stones

Today has been rather slow, after the very late night getting back from the fun of yesterday with the Smoke Fairies. It's been blowing a gale for most of the day here but I did eventually get out on the bike for a bit of exercise late this afternoon. I'm in need of some power training so I decided to do my "Three Hills" circuit, involving the ascent and descent of all three of the climbs out of Ilkley on the north side, Carter's Lane, Curly Hill and Monastery Hill. It was hard. I discovered how much the emphasis on endurance this summer has taken away my speed.

I finished at the bottom of Carter's Lane and sat down by the river for a few minutes to take a breather. These stepping stones would have been invisible a few days ago, totally consumed under quite a depth of water. The river was just about passable here today, but it wouldn't be for the faint-hearted. There is still quite a bit of water in the river. Looks likely that there will be far more tomorrow. We are forecast another day of rain. Possibly just as well, though, because I'm going to have to be at the office anyway. In the thick of it workwise at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.