Windy Morning, Bowmore

I suppose this might be called a classic view of the island of Islay.

If I had turned to my left I could have taken another one : the view up the Main Street of Bowmore to the round church. To my right was the small harbour in which a famous scene in "The Maggie" ( one of my favourite films) took place .

In front of me, though, was this sight - the seawall of the Bowmore Distillery whilst beyond ( across Loch Indaal) the sun was just touching the white houses of Port Charlotte.

The wind was still blowing this morning when I took this , as can be seen by the white horses in this sheltered part of the sea. But by mid afternoon when we left from Port Askaig on the ferry ( after a very crowded four and a half hour advice surgery plus an additional meeting) the showers had stopped and the saltire flying at the prow of the Finlaggan was not even being stirred by a breeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.