Journey Through Time

By Sue

Cannon Beach Sunset #2

So, I wasn't going to put up another sunset photo. I was going to put up a photo of Short Sand Beach and tell you about the movie Point Break with Keanu Reeves and Patrick Swayze. My son said, "Really, Mom? An old movie? Really?" Well, okay...but if you visit the rest of the photos on Flickr you will see some photos of Short Sand beach and that's where the end of that movie was filmed.

Day 2: I had slept a little bit and we slept in until nearly 10 a.m. The cottage has a little kitchen so we had our cereal and then went for our (late) morning walk, after I blew my nose a hundred times and sneezed some more, just for good measure. It's a good thing I had my Puff's tissues (with lotion!) in the car, or I wouldn't have a nose left. We hoofed it back to the Rock to see it in different lighting. The rocks stood out a lot better and I got a few more shots, although the tide was coming in and the tide pools were under water. These walks on the beach are so fantastic. We got to meet a few dogs. One was a little black scotty named Emily MacGregor. She let me love on her and I learned her name. The next day we saw her again, and I asked her owner about her name. She said she's had scotty dogs all her life and they were all called Mrs. MacGregor. We got a laugh out of that.

After all this exercise, that little bit of breakfast didn't do much for me, so we went to this pancake house in Cannon Beach and we had lunch. I decided on a "wrap" (made with tortilla not bread) sandwich and fries and I ate half of it and saved the other half, which we threw into the pot for our dinner that night. Clever, no?

Bill wanted to go to Short Sand Beach as we haven't been there in ages. There is a lovely trail through Oswald West State Park which takes you to the beach. It is a protected cove/beach area that is popular with surfers. The trail was much improved since last we were there and it was just gorgeous walking in those tall trees. It used to have part of that park open for overnight camping, but that is no longer available, but the trails are open and so we walked a different trail back to where the parking lot was and enjoyed seeing that. The beach was just gorgeous and there were several surfers, although my photos of them weren't that great.

We went back to the cottage and I avoided taking a nap because I was afraid it would backfire on me when it was time for bed. I got our dinner together...leftovers and some tomatoes and cucumbers we brought from home. We though we were very clever. No?

Then back to the beach. This time we are just minutes from our cottage and the Rocks are to the south of us. The clouds are there, the sun is setting, photographers are gathering, lovers are walking, dogs are barking, people are jogging....it's the Big Event about to start. Again. So, another zillion photos later...it's another big win for Mother Nature. Thank you!!

So we went back to cottage and watched some of our TV shows that we like and, thankfully, I did sleep a bit better. Not great, but not awful. The water works was in full swing and the sneezing continues and I just am perplexed. All this fresh clean air, and I am in the death throes of some kind of allergy? Or a cold? Really? Sure didn't seem like a virus thing. But...yikes...I'm in danger of dehydration. Drink more water.

I hope you see the rest of the sunset photos. Hard to decide. Son said this one. Okay. I'm too worn out from blowing my nose to argue

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.