School reunion cupcakes

Today I travelled south to join my friends for a school reunion at the house of one of them in Yarm. She laid on a lovely spread for us, which included these branded cupcakes in two flavours: gin and tonic, and Baileys.

My train journey was 'interesting'. First of all just at the point of departure from Waverley we were all told to disembark the train at Platform 8 and board another at Platform 11. Then I learnt that there were engineering works between Edinburgh and Newcastle so we would be travelling to Northallerton via Carlisle. That meant that we would zip straight past my parents' house as we crossed to top of England from west to the east. I phoned my parents to tell them, and at the appointed time my sister listened out for our progess along the banks of the South Tyne. She texted me to tell me that she heard the train hoot as we passed the house! The other fun aspect of the (rather long) journey was chatting to some American tourists from Virginia and acting as their unofficial tour guide along the route. (I also continued work on the articles...)

Tonight I am staying with one of the (very naughty) Turner twins on her farm. I was terrified of these sisters at school, and my teenage self would find it hard to believe that I am now very fond of them both!

Exercise today: tiny amount of walking (5,071 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.