Comfort Box

I decided to make my friend a comfort box - whenever she is low it is in her car that it hits her, so I thought a little box of goodies might help improve her mood at such times. I had great fun collecting bits to put in it from around my house but needed a few things from the shops, so a trip to Tavistock! There is a wonderful shop there called Inside Out which is just the best place for finding presents. It didn't fail - a set of Affirmation cards, which were not mawkish but fun and uplifting, and a mini Lightbox as found at cinemas advertising the current films! So good I bought one for myself too! Also some pretty shaped mini pewter hearts. 
Whilst I was there I bumped into an acquaintance  from the village who is also in the Bookclub. I really like her but our paths don't cross that frequently. She wondered if she should suggest a date for the next meeting so I told her I was opting out as not really what I wanted from a bookclub - and she agreed with me! So we are going to have a break away group of two! She recommended a book - How to Stop Time by Matt Haig. It was the first time she had found herself underlining parts - sounds a good book! 
Next stop the Health food shop for Rescue Remedy, Vitality Tincture and vegan snacks and chocolate! A few photos as I walked back to my car and shopping trip done! Quick stop at the Recycling depot  for my hard plastics and some knickers for the clothes bank! My clearing course had said take one thing that did not bring joy and hold it for a minute and let the feelings it aroused  flow through you - then decide what you wanted to do with the item. I have a pair of Knickers that somehow always reminds me of granny pants! So I had held them on my lap and decided that they had to go even though in good condition - as I never wear them for obvious reasons! But of course me being me I then went through all my knickers and found a lot that evoked similar feelings - and some that were just too damn uncomfortable like G-Strings! Bought for those occasions when a VPL is not desirable, I had in fact not often worn them - and when I did I felt indescribably uncomfortable and kept wanting to pull them out of you know where - which of course you can't! I managed to stop myself then descending like a demon on the tights that have holes and bobbles! I was only supposed to have done one item as it was!
Once home I wrapped all the little things in colourful tissue paper and ribbons and stuffed them in a box with a car drawing on the lid - how handy! Other things in the box were a bottle of bubbles- who isn't cheered up by them, photos of her pet and Feminist postcards with derogatory comments about men - always a girl pleaser! A wooden puzzle toy, a squashy foam world - for when the world gives you a kick and you want to retaliate! 
Quick trip to friends and we had tea and toast as she unwrapped her presents! She was delighted and decided she was never going to leave her car! Lightbox a great hit and she put the words " Jump the hurdles" on it! 
Then her husband came home and delivered some upsetting news - another friend in Intensive care after having a brain haemorrhage. Total shock. We both needed the contents of the box at that point. On arriving home I contacted Party Girl for more information and apparently after a second operation she was in High Dependency and things hopefully will improve. 
Thank heavens for an evening of Strictly to add some glitter and sparkle - and then Jools Holland and 25 years of Later... at the Royal Albert Hall. Oh my what a line up and how uplifting. Never realised quite how many of the Foo Fighters songs I loved and such energy. Also a mesmerising performance by Camille who I had never heard before. Otherworldly is the only way I can describe her. Here is one of the songs she performed here and another incredible one here with the lyrics  here. Van Morrison and Gregory Porter were pretty awesome too! A fine way to end the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.