They don't make them like that any more!

I'm so fed up with phones. I've had an iPhone, an Android phone and a Windows10 phone, all second hand from family and all have developed faults of one type or another within months.
Marlane is so fed up with me moaning about these phones that she said "What do you want in a phone? Why don't you just buy one?"
The truth is that all I really want is to be able to phone, text, and use Bluetooth with my helmet Bluetooth device thingy. Handy if it's small enough to fit into the small storage cubbyhole where the USB connector is on the bike (Got to think of a name for it, I think 'Predator' would fit as that's what it looks like, see extra).

She has a little Nokia that we bought years ago, have to use it every six months or so so she doesn't lose credit. Occasionally calls me but that's about it. She suggested I take hers and use it but I told her that I can get her a new phone for £9.99 if that's all she wants. 
In the meantime I loaded up my VERY FIRST mobile phone, I got this in 1988 when I moved into my Product Introduction role with Nortel Networks. Hasn't even been on charge for about 3 years but it powered up with 2 bars left. Put the SIM in and it worked perfectly. It's the one in the photo.
A very advanced phone for late 80's, speaker function which cuts out if you raise it to your ear and many other features which were way ahead of the competition but it never caught on, Nortel was more business orientated. I even had a hands free kit installed in the company car, which I gave to my Turkish friend and colleague when I had an upgrade to newer phone.

Anyway, I now have the £9.99 phone which is sold as an upgrade so it was all done in my name in Carphone Warehous and Marlane was happy as she knows how to use her little Nokia. The cheap new phone has Bluetooth so I'm happy also.

Still no new baby!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.