Leiflife

By Leiflife

Painting freedom - Dancing Freedom

I came across this "happening" as I crossed the harbor bridge on my morning walk. I enjoyed the sight of the painters, quietly, and with great focus, painting Freedom. I was audience for a little while as this boat, which I have noticed often (due to its name), received a fresh coat paint. I rather liked the pictures I took. And the idea of painting freedom took hold in my mind.

This week I am preparing to participate in the Fall Dance Festival at the Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural Center here in Ocean Springs. I will appear on Saturday in the evening performance. As dancer, as artist... And for a little while I thought of calling my presentation: Dancing Freedom, but with Summer's help I went with "Revealing my Process" with a subtext that describes my intention. Of course, if I am inviting the audience to see stage as studio, and to witness the process involved in my creative journey, I must realize the same sort of freedom that can happen in the private domain of my studio. A freedom that includes struggle as well as breakthrough...  Fear as well as courage...

Summer has arranged for a small exhibit of my paintings and drawings of dancers in the lobby. This led me to think of bringing my easel with me to the stage, along with my dancing body. Hopefully, the meshing of dancing with drawing that takes place in my private studio can be transferred to the public stage. Something new...

I post an extra of a drawing done in the studio, but as a part of my Wednesday morning dance session with Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.