Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Plums and Custard

Despite their appealing name these fungi are no sweet dish.

Tricholomopsis rutilansas is their Latin name, at one time they were classed a an edible fungus 'after treatment'. Today most references will state that they are inedible. I haven't tried them and have no wish to do so. Hearsay has it that they are very bitter and by no means worth while.

They grow on the submerged roots of conifer trees. Sometimes you will find them where an old tree stood many years previously, invisible to the eye, but digging into the soil will find the roots that have withstood time.

I had a walk up on the downs but not finding much of interested to blip decided to go back to the heath. The greensand is a totally diverse environment and a habitat for many species that don't tolerate chalk. . In the summer months it is a haven for reptiles but I rarely have time to go on my own without dogs. No matter how well behaved, four legged hunting mutts are not the best ingredient for wildlife spotting!

I found far more fungal species today than I did yesterday, signal that the season has started. I warn you that, as the insects begin to hibernate, you will be seeing more mushroom blips.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.