Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Carluccio's

After a not so great start this morning on my part (wasn't well through the night & excused myself from hospital visit) we all headed out on a get-things-done day.

First stop, local telco Etisalat who have a complete monopoly so you're stuck with them regardless of the service. I was trying to up the speed of my internet connection seeing as there is another user in the house! No success mainly because my legal status in this country has changed (Visit Visa instead of Resident) so I cannot do anything until I sort myself out first!

Next thing was to get a prescription medicine which often proves a challenge. This part is so ridiculous I won't even begin to explain suffice it to say, it often causes me stress and is almost always a challenge.

Then off to Dubai Mall for lunch and some retail therapy for SweetArt469. We ate at Carluccio's, one of our favourites and to our surprise, Manageress Lyn said Mr Antonio Carluccio is here himself! "Hit it at the right time," I thought. Tomorrow he is doing a cooking demonstration which should be good to go along to. Not that I cook, but I am living with 2 people who cook very well indeed!!!

Lyn let me take pictures of their vibrant displays some of them done for Mr Cs visit. It really is such an amazing restaurant. Their produce always looks incredible and the quality is excellent. We then headed for a Morelli's icecream via a few shops. Then went into some more shops and some more... We were with SweetArt469 after all!!! ;) Seriously, it wasn't really that many as time was running out.

Got home 5 hours later, tired and lots to catch up with; so there it is. The day after our limo ride which we're still really chuffed about. Thank you so much for your lovely comments and support (and patience). It's all back to normal now except there are still lots of pink things around the flat... something that should help G with the challenge she has taken up with tig1447!!!

PS. Tonight, I am missing attending the concert of my favourite artist Sara Groves who is touring the UK for the first time EVER this autumn! My friends whom I was with last week have gone and I am really rather jealous! :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.