Fracas in the Marketplace

I was sitting quietly outside The Berber Shop, with Basil, studying my new acquisition, a Sony RX100III when I suddenly heard raised voices.

Beyond the two workmen you can see a tallish man with white hair and beard berating a cheeky youngster aged around 12, dressed in a khaki jacket. One of his partners in crime, wearing green wellies, stands by him. Can't be more than 7 or 8. And behind the gent speaking on his mobile are two more youngsters who I'd guess were 10 and 11.

The reason I was sitting outside and not in Aziz' shop was that he'd had £200 worth of goods nicked a few weeks back by this self same gang of lads, although nothing can be proved. They roam the market looking for trouble and give lip to anyone who tells them off, like the old white haired guy.

So Aziz had asked me to sit outside and bar the entry to the shop while he went to Friday prayers. The chap who had used to be a guard was the one who hadn't noticed the boys fingering the rings in the shop.

They stopped by me briefly and made faces but I stared them out.

Basil and I adjourned later to Deli Delice for a pot of tea and a toasted sandwich. Basil was offered dog biscuits which he accepted with alacrity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.