Being WildCardinal...

By WildCardinal

Sloe gin day

Spent most of today making slow gin. Or rather, slicing the sloes in preparation for turning it into sloe gin! It's a slow (or is that sloe) job slicing every single one. Yes - I know some people freeze them, but I never find it turns out as well.

So sloe slicing was most of today. All done while watching some films on LoveFilm (Unthinkable, The Guardian and The Philadelphia Experiment) - so you can guess how long it took!

The good news was that I found a couple of jars brewing from last autumn still that had disappeared at the back of the cupboard. Enough to fill 3 bottles. That should last till Christmas. I did get odd looks from the lady on the checkout buying 3kg of sugar and 7 litres of gin and nothing else - but that's what's needed to go with the 4kg of sloes I picked though.

This montage looked better in my head than it finally came out. It does show the main steps in the process though. A couple of glasses were enjoyed while watching Downton Abbey.

(Backblip for yesterday)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.