Pitlochry cottage garden

Not far from the Winsfords' house in Pitlochry, there is a cottage with a beautiful garden. Even in the pouring rain this morning it looked lovely, as can be seen from my blip.

We started the day with bacon, cheese and mushroom sandwiches à la Mr Winsford, then another (third) game of Catan. At the start I knew that the (random) way in which the board was laid out would favour the person who managed to place his/her first settlement at a particular apex. Since I was third to select my spot, I knew that the winner wouldn't be me. Mr hazelh was the lucky one, and won the game as I predicted. (I was the champion last night though, so we had three different winners for the three games that we played over the course of the weekend.)

Then we braved the rain for a lovely walk through the village for a mooch around the new Pitlochry Dam Visitor Centre, and to check for salmon passing through the fish ladder.

The latter was a regular stop-off for my salmon-fishing family whenever we came to Scotland on holiday, so this little outing felt a bit like a pilgrimage in honour of my parents. I therefore bought a postcard of the dam in the visitor centre and sent it to them as a souvenir of happy days crushed in the back of the car/Land Rover with my sisters and an excess of fishing tackle.

After lunch at the Festival Theatre (thank you dear Winsfords!) it was time to return to Edinburgh after a fabulous, relaxing weekend.

Exercise today: a little walking, much of it under canopies of golden leaves as blipped by Winsford (9,877 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.