*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Wabi-sabi

Today is World Mental Health Day so how apt that I was at the Doctor's this morning discussing, yes you guessed it, my mental health.

I'm now on a (long - probably months and months) waiting list for a psychiatric assessment but I also have the option to be referred privately for a specific ASD Assessment if I prefer (I could be seen in 2 weeks). It makes me feel sad that there is such an imbalance of care between the rich and poor. And this imbalance is magnified further when it comes to mental health provision.

Norm took me to my appointment and then treated me to some breakfast afterwards and we had a good chat. 

The last few weeks/months have humbled me - how the people around me have helped; by listening and empathising, phoning places for more information for me (something I find very difficult to do), offering to help me pay for the private assessment, researching things for me, sending me messages, emails* and texts and little tokens of support through the post... it's made me realise how lucky I am and how terrible it must be to feel mentally unwell and not have that support.  

*including some very nice people on Blip too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.