Chocolate Vegan Ice Cream

Here is the second attempt at the vegan cashew nut chocolate ice cream!! It is quite lovely and I am pleased at the attempt. Here is the recipe for anyone brave enough to attempt it!!

1 x cup raw cashews (organic)
2 x cup water
2 x tbs cocoa powder (Green and Blacks organic)
1/4 x cup agave (organic) or honey

Add cashews to blender along with agave and add 1 half cup of water. Blend until smooth. Mix cocoa powder with some of the water until smooth and then add to the mixture and blend. Add remaining water until frothy. Place in ice cream maker until it looks like soft serve.
~~~~~~~

I don't have an ice cream maker so I put it in the freezer until just set and put back in blender until creamy and returned to freezer. I did this three times but think maybe another go may give a better consistency. However it is very nice!! It's has a grainy texture which can apparently be overcome by soaking the cashews overnight first. I used organic ingredients but you don't have to. Good luck if you try it!!!

Next time I am going to add chocolate chip (non dairy) pieces to it!!! Yummy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.