In shock!!!

I know it was warm last night and a great mothing night, but I really didn't expect this!
When i got up this morning to empty the trap there were a few wasps buzzing around  (which in itself is odd for this year) which I let out of the trap, I took the bulb out, and took the cone off and noticed another pesky wasp sitting on the top egg box.... I usually just knock the whole box into the garden at this point to get rid of the wasp, but before I did I turned the box over to check the other side, and this amazing moth was just sitting there! 
I was absolutely stunned!!! The Blue underwing (Clifden nonpareil) Catocala fraxini, is the favourite of Victorian collector's and has the huge wingspan of 75 -95mm!! and is classified as a 'rare immigrant' although it seems increasingly likley it is breeding once again in Sussex and Kent.
I am not sure if this is a migrant or home grown individual, but whichever I was delighted to catch it.
As I moved down the trap there were more delights including Dewick's plusia Macdunnoughia confusia, another rare migrant!!! 
Needless to say the trap is on again tonight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.