That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Lost And Found

Somewhere deep beneath this mass of vegetation and rabbit holes lay my varifocal spectacles.

While Mr Flum and Miss Flum were busy decorating I went on a foraging expedition for rose hips, to make even more jelly. Fair progress was made at this site until a wayward branch flipped my glasses clean off my nose, into the unknown. I scanned the area carefully but, without them, could not see clearly; there was nothing for it but to go and find a better pair of eyes, in the form of Mr Flum.

We searched. We returned to fetch secateurs and loppers to cut back the undergrowth. Miss Flum joined us; still the glasses could not be found. It was as though the earth had swallowed them up.

After much heart-searching I was persuaded that the only recourse was to go to the opticians and order another pair, which we did - exactly the same, ready at the end of the month. Meanwhile the predecessors of the errant pair will suffice. But I could not understand why we could not find them - they must be there, where else could they be?

As a last resort, after tea, when all was dark, we returned armed with torches in the hope that light would reflect off the lenses to reveal their hiding place. They didn't.

No, it was a tiny glint from the metal frame that gave them away, just a yard from where I had been standing. After a quick wash and polish, they are as good as new.

And, speaking of 'new'....I wonder if I can cancel that order???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.