Kamran

By kamran

Day 31: Welcome to Turkey

It is not often that you would see me smiling so big in a picture. There is a reason for that!
Finally after being on the road for 31 days, I arrived in Turkey. The border checkpoint was situated on top of hills and riding up there was not so easy. For the first time in the tour, I had to walk and push the bike for a kilometer or two as the steep climb made it impossible to ride. After crossing the border it was down-hill for the first few kilometers in Turkey, but the real fun began later in the hills. One of the most amazing experiences was doing a 20% grade climb, short but steep. Guess what I did? Push the bike up there. Of course.

Video: Crusing downhill on the way to Kirklareli

I found a hotel in Vize and after washing my biking wear, went out to have some Turkish Kebab and ate as much as I could.

Picture was taken using self-timer with the camera mounted on a gorilla-pod, hence the low view-point.

Malko Tarnovo, Bulgaria to Vize, Turkey: 102.71
Route map and statistics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.