Stale bread

This loaf is fresh, baked this morning and bought from the next street two hours ago, but tomorrow we will probably buy another loaf because it doesn't keep well, which is good because it must mean that there are no preservatives in it, but we do end up with quite a lot of stale bread as a result. So what do I do with it?

- put it in the freezer for when we want some toast, but how much toast do we really need
- make bread and butter pudding, but I'm not really a pudding-maker and I definitely shouldn't be a pudding-eater... Steve says "Shame :-("
- make treacle tart - although here it would have to be honey tart because we can't get golden syrup - but ditto
- make some eggy bread - ooh yes, except that I tend to forget about this possibility
- make garlic bread if there's leftover French stick
- make breadcrumbs to freeze, but I don't often need breadcrumbs
- the Catalan answer (apparently) is to sprinke stale bread with red wine... but that doesn't appeal at all!

What do you do with your stale bread? I need more ideas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.