J.C

By joeclarke

Circular Rainbow Over Bristol

Speechless!

I'm trying to produce a new landscape each day at the moment, I headed out and the sky was swiftly covered in a monstrous black cloud, it rained for about 40 minutes, I took cover and watched the soggy world go by. Then it stopped and I hopped on my bike to a planned location, then it opened up again, arrr! I decided to head home but on my way I saw a huge rainbow across the city centre, so I razzed it up up park street on my bike and literally ran up the many steps of Cabot Tower (not an easy task!) to be greeted by three different rainbows over a 15 minute period. I had the entire tower to myself and was pretty giddy with excitement, all of my photography skill went a little bit out of the window at the sheer delight of capturing one over the city, but I did manage to bang out this panorama very quickly (this is a crop of the entire image).

This rainbow was a complete circle right in front of me, I'd say about 50 meters away, never seen one like it or even heard of them before. I imagine it's something to do with being up high?

During the festival season I saw an amazing night view over one of the biggest festival sites on our way home (fires blazing, loads of stages illuminated etc) and didn't bother to stop and take the picture, I've been kicking myself about it since, so have promised myself to always make the effort to take a photo of something unique, it paid off today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.