Haikography

By JanBee

Sea Fever

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel's kick and the wind's song and the white sail's shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea's face, and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull's way and the whale's way, where the wind's like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick's over.

'Sea Fever' by John Masefield


One of my favourite poems and as it's National Poetry Day I thought I'd celebrate it, especially as I was in Brighton this morning.

This picture is of the cliffs between Brighton and Rottingdean, with Rottingdean Windmill in the background and the long established St Dunstan's home for blind war veterans (the building th the left of the windmill with all the windows). I always thought it ironic that this building with such fabulous sea views is a home for the blind.

I love the angles the sea walls make against the cliffs ... it looks quite good in b/w but I just could resist the colour of the sea .....

If you look large you can see all the little people walking along the sea path ...

Happy National Poetry day everyone!

Have been a bit tardy with my blips so two back blips ( I don't know you wait ages for a blip then three come along at once!)

Morning Clouds
I'll get that wabbit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.