old dog, new tricks

If you saw Anniemay’s blip on thursday, you’ll know I’ve just bought a new guitar.  If you’re interested in these sorts of things, you’ll notice that it’s nylon strung.  (If you’re not interested in these things, you’ll just have to take my word for it).

I’ve decided that, after playing guitar (on and off) for over 50 years, it’s time I had some lessons.  I’m self-taught, which really means a lifetime of bad habits and limited technique.  So I’ve signed up with a guitar teacher.

I have a yen to play some proper ‘tunes’ - I’ve just redicovered my old Charlie Byrd LPs from the 1960s - and as I don’t read music, I need someone to help me get what I hear, out of my head and into my fingers.

It’s a very nice guitar (see extra).  Simple design, no fancy wood or ornamentation and it’s a joy to play.  

First lesson is in two weeks time and I’m looking forward to it.  Anniemay wants me to have a proper notebook to write out my homework; once a teacher …..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.