One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Kilbarrack has it all

but it can get nippy in the mornings.

Somehow, I'm not sure I'll be able to sell this shot to the Kilbarrack Tourism Development Authority.

As I was returning to my platform after having taken three shots of Aidan and his anonymous hooded mate, a rather vocal fellow passenger asked me why I had taken a photo of that "little gurrier in the balaclava", he was wondering if I was not giving more street cred to the kid than he deserved.
He had a valid point. I tried to explain to him that my intention was not to glamourise or condemn the use of the lovingly hand-knitted-by-his-frail-grandma-head-garment Aidan wears to protect himself from the extreme cold.
His opinion is that by asking them to take their photo, I was in a way validating their burgeoning gangster status. That I was giving them the "wrong kind of attention" they are striving on. And I have to admit that he is right up to a point.
Sadly enough, my feeling is that with or without my giving them attention, these kids have already turned a corner, years ago, leading inexorably to a future that has more chances of them being shot outside a pub at 2 in the afternoon at the age of 23 than being awarded the Citizen of the Year award by the Dublin City mayor at a glitzy reception in Mansion House.
I explained to the guy did I not use any props or manipulate things, that there was actually a kid in a balaclava at 9 am on the platform opposite me, that I usually record the usual as well as the unusual and that I prefer to ask for permission to take a photo rather than shoot from a distance. With these customers anyway, I'd rather ask beforehand (the worse that can happen is them telling me to "fook off mistah, are you a fooking peedoh?) than risk being caught taking a sneaky shot and open myself to trouble of a far more real and serious nature.

Anyway, I'll still contact the Kilbarrack Tourism Development Authority, on the off chance that they are looking for something a bit more out of the ordinary to promote linguistic trips in the area, as I need to buy a new car battery.
I'll have to check first with Aidan what his modelling fee is. I reckon that an eighth would be enough, but he may demand a quarter. And some Uzi ammunition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.