The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wootton Bassett (Wednesday 1st November 2017)

While I was on my way from Wootton Bassett market to Wichelstowe Waitrose at the edge of Swindon (to look at the advances made to the disused canal at its side) I came to a halt outside the Sally Pussey inn because of a long stationary tailback in front of me. Luckily, to my right there was a turning that led to Chaddington Lane Bridge, which is also on the Wilts and Berks, so I went there instead.
Earlier in the year I blipped a family swans there, but on this occasion there was only a solo cygnet grazing along the canal bank, along with a few mallards, moorhens and damselflies.
In a field on the far side I heard a woman farmer talking to three horses that were coming too close to the fence where she was working, and I decided to investigate and walked up to the bridge at Chaddington Lock, from where I took this blip of a timeless canal scene (apart from the InterCity 125 heading for London Paddington, and the houses of Wootton Bassett).
I got some shots of the horses from a farm track until another lady very politely asked me to move on, citing the same reason regarding the fence.
I don't know if the bottleneck had cleared as I returned via a different route, stopping again at Templars Firs to investigate another section of the canal, where I was treated to the sight of a water vole (no picture), saving Wichelstowe for another day.

L.
2.11.2017 (1556 hr)

Blip #2268 (#2518 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #014
Blips/Extras In 2017 #336
Day #2777 (528 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1503 (#1629 including 126 on archived blips)

Autumn series
Canals series
Landscape series
Wootton Bassett series
Wilts and Berks Canal series

Wilts and Berks Canal At Wootton Bassett, 1 November 2017 (Flickr album of 36 images)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Anna Calvi - Baby It's You (2011)
The singles from Anna Calvi's self-titled first album featured various cover versions on the B-sides that were not on the album, given her distinctive interpretations. The third of these was Baby It's You, which I hadn't heard until this day. I also hadn't heard a successful 1969 cover by Smith, but I knew the song initially from the Beatles' Please Please Me album, and subsequently discovered the original version that was recorded in 1960 by the Shirelles. It was written by Burt Bacharach with lyricist Mack David (elder brother of Hal David) and producer Luther Dixon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.