Clash City Ruckers

Took Matt, Andy and their pal Fraser to their rugby game at Prestonpans this morning.

On the way, Matt picked out the CD of The Clash's first album and put it on. As the power chords of this blasted out of the speakers, I fully expected them to decide it wasn't really what they'd been looking for. After all, it's as ancient to them as 1930s jazz would have been to me when I was their age.

However, within minutes they were all headbanging like the dudes in the car in Wayne's World, yelling, "turn it up! Turn it up!"

Quite tickled me.



Note for nerds

Yes, I know Clash City Rockers wasn't on The Clash's first album. But it WAS on the official US version, which I mistakenly bought at Fopp recently for £3. Proof, if it were needed, that you get what you pay for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.