The shopping centre whose creation I've been documenting for over 2½ years opened while we were away. I went to look today. It's not finished and there are workers all round the edges putting in lighting, inserting boards over rough corners and tidying. There are looped cables hanging from ceilings, unfinished bike racks and scaffolding above the glass roof (extra). But it's full of people buying things like it's been there for ever. It's not my sort of place (it's a shopping centre) but it could be worse: the glass roof means there is natural light, it's not enclosed by doors and there is outdoor seating on part of the roof with views over Oxford and out to countryside. There will be complaints that the communal spaces are not heatable in winter nor air-conditionable in summer but I like not feeling enclosed.

I then went to explore Oxford's other shopping streets where there are now empty shops and one (so far) pop-up charity shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.