The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Reflecting

After just over a week away in the heat and sun of Sicily, we said goodbye to the M-C's and headed the 300 miles home from Gatwick on a cool and beautiful Autumn day. And Autumn has advanced in the garden in our absence: the Katsura tree is ready to drop its burnt toffee smelling leaves, the Amelanchier is already shedding its foliage, and the Liquidamber is colouring up.

The promise of a sunset drew me to the Bay. There was no colourful light show, but the sky reflecting in the ebbing water made up for it. As I viewed the dimming light, while listening to bubbling curlews and watching the small flock of feeding redshanks, I knew, as I always know when I have been away, that there really is no better place for me to be.

Tomorrow I shall start to load the back blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.