Learning day by day

By EmmaF

My first medal

Well my 10k was interesting, I set off (too fast) at pre-children pace and really paid for it later in the race. I finished in a reasonable, for most, time but not one that I was impressed with. Not sure whether running with a watch that could tell me my pace was good or bad because once I loked at it and knew I was going too fast I went from feeling great to rubbish in about two strides. Needless to say I didn't enjoy it much, but I do feel like I need to do more races, if only to get fitter.

Anyway it answers the question about next weekend. I will not be doing the Half. I know I could run the distance, but I really don't see the point in dragging my family all the way there at some unearthly hour for me to jog round in over 1hr 40. I think I will pick a couple more 10k's and then a half when I am fitter (and have ran more than 7miles!).

What I did enjoy was the 2K kids fun run. My lovely girl started halfway back in the 0-5years age group and she fairly flew round the course. She finished ahead of some of the 6-9 age group who started well before her. Only twice did she complain, but all I needed to say was "Look at that boy in front" and she increased her pace. She finished with a huge smile on her face, which got even bigger when she realised she got a medal, a banana and a cup of water! She is so proud of her medal I think she would of have slept in it if she had been allowed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.