The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Christmas Tea

It was an interesting and busy day today. I started at Miki's getting my hair done. Forgot to take her calendar (dang!) so I will take one around to her later in the week. As always we had good conversation as she did my hair. I asked about having a slightly lighter hair color (yes, I do stain my hair. The current real color is white.) She suggested just coloring the roots giving the rest of the hair a chance to continue to fade a bit. Sounded good to me.

After my hair was done I drove up to Helen's and spent a couple of hours there visiting. Janet and Sue were there and the four of us had coffee, a bite or two to eat, and good conversation. Nice. As Sue and Janet were leaving Christie arrived and I stayed on awhile to show her my new photo book from the trip. It's a nice way to share the experiences and I enjoyed talking and looking at the photos.

When Christie left I did too. I had an hour before I was due for the Christmas tea that I was going to attend in the afternoon. So I went to Gallery West to look at their art, especially Janet's work there. I hadn't realized she had work there until our conversation so I went there to see her work. I do like what she does, both paintings and pastels.

Finally it was time to go to the Christmas tea at my friend Kathy's church. It was a woman's tea and Cathy had funded a table. When we got there there was a slight glitch so three of us were at one table and the other four at another. We talked with some new folks and had nice sandwiches, scones and cookies along with our tea. 

There was a program toward the end of the tea which I hadn't expected. What most impressed me about the whole experience was how young the women were at the event, and managing it. I am used to seeing older people at church and other activities. Here, however there were many young gals who were very active in making the event happen and entertaining the participants. It seems that youth is in full attendance at the church that put on the tea. Nice.

Now I am home relaxing and doing my blip. It's nice to have some quiet time after a busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.