Sunrise and shininess!

A bit of symbolism in the part-apple of my previous blip: I have a nine-year-old iMac which I bought cheaply and rarely use. Now that the graphics card of my ten-year-old PC has died, so everything is extremely low resolution, and my laptop has still not come back from the insurers/repairers four months after they first got it, I have blown the dust off the iMac and am relearning how to use it. The operating system is way out of date so new browsers don’t work properly on it but if I update it there is a risk that my old Adobe and Office software won’t work. So I’m in Scylla and Charybdis waters but I did manage to use it to upload my last two blips.

But, on the very day that I got it going, the text from the insurers was not the weekly 'Hi, we are still working hard to complete your repair, and we will continue to keep you updated,’ but ‘We will be replacing your laptop. A voucher code will be sent to you within 24 hours.’

Cynic that I am, I assumed the voucher would be worth a small fraction of the value of my laptop but no, it turns out that it is enough to allow me to replace it with an equivalent model.

Hurrah!

So as soon as I have time to research what I want, order it, get it home and set it up, I shall be back on dry land.

Meanwhile apologies for the lack of comments, which is a work not an IT issue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.