Celebrating the ordinary

I remember thinking right back on 4 September 2010, the day of the 7.1 earthquake that I'd never wish the ordinary parts of life away again. Many times I longed for ordinary over the next 20 months.

With a beautiful warm late afternoon and no cat surgery dramas, I jumped on my bike and headed to the supermarket. Not my favourite job but a girls got to eat.

As I locked my bike up, bracing myself to the after work shoppers, I looked up and had a moment. An ordinary moment. I realised I have a local supermarket to shop at again. It's probably one of the safest buildings in Christchurch. Soon we'll have more local shops. Wonderfully ordinary.

Fresh, clean and new. Just local, like you'd expect in a village. No big mall (which I hate). Just ordinary stuff we didn't have locally for 19 months. Yes, the surrounding streets make it a challenge to get here but that's life on the roads in Christchurch.

Just an ordinary blip, but ordinary is good, ordinary is worth celebrating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.