WideAngle Wednesday: December's Decision Time

This afternoon we undertook our annual pilgrimage to nearby Chopwell Woods to buy our Christmas tree. Looking back at last year's blips shows me that we're 2 days ahead of last year when we undertook the same task. Son #1 and his wife aren't able to be over here from the USA this year (see last year's extra), but Son#3 and his partner came with us today.

This is a wide angle shot for WidWed, and shows Decision time (D for Decision and D for December, along with a Christmas theme as suggested by Bobsblips): Son#3 and the Editor are holding up a couple of trees while we tried to decide between them...and while I faffed around taking my blip of course (in the end we decided against both of them as we found one better than either of these.)

(I need to correct an error in last year's blip: I said then that I guessed that most of the trees on sale at Chopwell probably come from Norway. In fact according to their website they're all grown in Britain.)

I'd remembered to take rope with me but had forgotten to put the crossbars on the roof rails of the car so we couldn't do our usual trick of tying it to the roof. Fortunately we managed to squeeze it into the car along with all 4 of us so we still got it home safely. One of my jobs in the next day or two will be to put it up, using my bespoke home-made stand.

After the purchase we had a lovely walk round the woods - but had to make it fairly short as we didn't want to get lost in the woods when night fell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.