"Do you believe in Santa, Mrs Turner?"

Dear Diary,

For many years I taught art on the elementary school level.  The week before Christmas was always a very exciting one.  My Kindergarten, grade one and two students were giddy at the prospect of Santa coming.  I use to sew jingle bells into the hem of my skirt and would, from time to time, jingle them.  Their eyes would get as large as saucers.  Santa's elves were surely around checking up on their behavior!  I never wanted for helpers to clean up the art room the week before Christmas!

Then, in grade three, the doubters began to appear and every year I would be asked that fatal question, "Do you believe in Santa, Mrs Turner?", usually quietly and out of earshot of their classmates.  I could with all sincerity answer, "Yes, I do."  For me, Santa is a metaphor for kindness and caring, for giving of yourself to others.  For me to not believe in such things would be unthinkable.

I have a cousin who refused to allow his child to believe in Santa Claus.  He thought it would be lying to the child.  I couldn't disagree with him more.  Taking the magic and wonder away from a child is a horrible thing.  The little boy was always careful not to ruin other children's Christmas but he always seemed a bit sad to me around Christmas.  I think he knew in his heart that he was missing out on something wonderful.

My extra photograph is of a Santa I bought while I was in Russia years ago.  The woodcarver was an elderly man who had been making his Santa's for over 50 years.  His daughter painted them.  He seemed so delighted with his work and smiled the entire time.  He chuckled and held his latest creation up for me to see.  I thought at the time, that is how Santa must feel as he makes toys for children.  Yes, I believe in Santa for his spirit is alive in all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.