Coffee by the bay

This morning the sun was rising above the horizon as I left to start my run. So I changed my plan from last night and instead of heading off to the top of Maungawhau I went on one of the courses that takes me to Coxs Bay.

Every weekday morning a mobile coffee vendor parks his/her van in a layby and serves coffee to drivers who pull up beside him. Typically, they then head off to complete the commute to work.

This pair have their coffees and are enjoying the the morning sun (on them as well as on the bay). One is also wondering why I'm taking a photo which includes them.

This is not the first time I have blipped this bay with its reflections of the yachts which are moored there. It will probably not be the last.

Looked at large it is easy to see the buildings out at West Harbour, which we can see from the apartment, and which often have a lot of lights creating a bright line on the far edge of the harbour.

Coxs Bay is only a couple of kilometres at most from where we stayed for 30 years, and where our three children spent their childhoods, attended university and then left home. Running down the hill to the bay one morning not long before we left Herne Bay, a bus stopped in front of me, the driver leapt out and confronted me. Slightly bewildered I stopped to be told that he had been seeing me run down this hill for over 20 years, and he wanted to congratulate me. Jumped back in the bus and drove off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.