The Way I See Things

By JDO

Lygon Arms

When Child One and I drove to Witney on Saturday, there were several red kites hanging around looking photogenic above the Gloucestershire/Oxfordshire border on the road between Stow-on-the-Wold and Burford; and as I had to go to Stow this morning for a haircut, I took the camera and went to see if they were still about. They were not: though I drove all the way to Burford and back, all I found were a buzzard - which went WAAAAH!!! when I stopped the car and looked at it, and disappeared at high speed into a spinney - and a kestrel, sitting in a tree overhanging the road, and having a bit of a think about things. I took several photos of the kestrel through the car windscreen, one of which was nicely composed and perfectly focused, and would have made a very nice blip if it hadn't been three stops over-exposed.

Memo to self: just sort yourself out, will you? Thanks very much.

This afternoon R and I went into Broadway to run a couple of errands and eat some cake, and while he was becoming enraged in the Post Office I wandered up and down the main street, looking for something of interest to photograph. I've always quite liked the outside of the Lygon Arms, though it's a bit Brexit; I suspect the inside is probably more so, but that's just supposition because I've never set foot inside the place, and in all likelihood never will. After taking a few single shots, but not liking any of them especially, I walked in an arc around the sign and photographed it from various angles, then chose four of the frames and stacked them to create this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.