There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Sun Is But a Morning Star

"Only that day dawns to which we are awake. There is more day to dawn. The sun is but a morning star." - Thoreau, Walden

I'm fortunate these days in that the sun is often rising just at the time that I'm driving to work in the morning. What beautiful sky-shows I have seen!

I stopped by the pond on Granny Lane (the same place where my 300-blipday horse stuck out its tongue at me earlier in the week), and was lucky to be there to catch that first glimpse of sun through the trees.

The reflections were quite something - crisp and clear - and the sky and water deep blue. The sun shining - no, twinkling - through the trees looked like a morning star, and it reminded me of a beloved piece of writing I admire: Thoreau's very last paragraph of Walden.

There is more day to dawn. Something beautiful awaits. Now go; go out and see!


Editor's Note: At the suggestion of freespiral, I rotated the image. :-) The pond (the bluest part of the image) has now become the sky, and the sun-star moves to the left of the image instead of the right . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.