Front row seats still available!

Though the fountain in Jamison Park is still running, no one was watching the show but me on this rainy afternoon. These wet chairs beaded with raindrops reminded me of the many theatres where I've worked, and how we hoped to fill the seats at every show.

My daughter is now out of uniform. She performed four years of active service in the Army, and she has agreed to serve four more in the National Guard. She arrived in Houston yesterday, met by her old high school friends who threw a party to welcome her back to civilian life. I hope she'll find a way to move into a life that works for her, and I hope there will be no reason for the National Guard to be called up in the next four years. I still wish our "troops" could be used for environmental protection and compassionate service, instead of post-colonial capitalist police work. But nobody asks me.

If you like portraits, have a look at a photo-essay called "Americans at Work." Each portrait is more environment than facial study, each one reflecting the work as well as the individual. I'd like to do a series like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.