A Find (and a ?)

Yesterday a big question mark was hung from the Finnieston Crane and it will be there until next February, as part of the 90th birthday celebrations taking place for George Wylie, whose "Terracotta Puffer" I blipped late last year.

George died in May but his energy, humour, imagination, and creativity are inspiring lots of people to celebrate him and to go further , the question marks being put in the Clyde by Alec Galloway being only one example.

I was walking past a display case in the Parliament Entrance Hall this week which featured some of his work (more is on show in the garden of the Parliament) when I did a double take. Inside was a "Scottish Politician of the Year" Award from the second occasion on which it took place - the one given to Tricia Marwick for being "one to watch" I think .

I had forgotten that George had made the commemorative pieces for that year (and I think for some subsequent years) but my double take was because I had one at home just like it.

In that first year of the awards I won the "Debater of the Year" title. I looked at it today and there was George's signature at the bottom .

I was delighted to know that he had been in my study for the past 12 years whilst I was completely unaware. Who knows what he might have heard, seen or done.....!

And that thought seems particularly, subversively, wonderfully George -like.

(Just been told that there is more here , at the Whys man Blip pages. Another exciting example of George's infectous inspiration. )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.