Adam's Images

By ajt

Pot of Gold?

Been busy today. After breakfast I went into the village to promote an Insulate Hampshire "Community Insulation" event we are running in the village in a fortnight. I think I got a few more people to sign up, so we should reach the critical mass required to make it work. I also collected a large banner which I hung up at one of the halls after lunch. As is always the way, the eyelets and hooks in the wall never quite line up, but I think it's in place and won't fall off...

We then returned home for lunch, we were going to go for a bike ride but the allegedly sunny weather turned very wet so we stayed in for a while. My better half suggested I took my camera out and tried for a blip as it was sunny and wet at the same time. I had a look but couldn't see anything interesting, but when I looked out of the front windows there was this most intense rainbow I'd ever seen right in front of me. It seemed as if ended in the rear garden of the house opposite or possibly the playing field just behind.

We did think of going to look for the pot of gold, but it was raining and anyway I'm sure there is a lot of tax and paperwork to fill out if you find a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow anyway...

It did stop raining and we were going to go out for a bike ride but my father called and I spent the next three hours fixing his computer. The basic problem is that his eyesight isn't great so a friend helped him buy a larger TV and then connected his computer to it. So he went from a 17" 4:3 monitor to a 32" 16:9 TV. I SSH'd into the box to check and annoyingly the TV and computer hardware hadn't spoken to each other and so X had been forced to default to a safe but very low and useless resolution. I reconfigured X and gave it it a kick, annoying the first time I tried this things didn't go well but on a hardware reboot X did the right thing and my father now has a perfectly useful screen again. BTW, X is the name of the Unix/Linux graphical display system, sometimes called X Window System, X11 or XWindows, it isn't a placeholder for something else. I'm quite pleased it's all working, especially as he is in Lancashire and I'm in Hampshire...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.