Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Eyelash Cups


Scutellinia scutellata

I'm betting most of you have never looked closely at this fungus before. I hadn't until today. I also cannot find any other blips of this fungus - I get no hits for tagged Scutellinia and none for tagged "eyelash cup".

I had half an hour and decided to look for some fungi today (considering how wet it has been) but couldn't find any decent large specimens. I therefore turned to some smaller examples and successfully photographed a couple of species. I felt sure this one was going to be the blip once I saw the seductive eye-lashes and the sexy red-orange.

According to sources on the internet, this is quite common and widespread though often overlooked because of its small size. Both discs are under a cm in diameter.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.