But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Victoria Street.

Having successfully arrived halfway to his allotted three score years and ten, Jnr could be legitimately regarded as middle aged. It is, therefore a little disconcerting that he needs so much assistance in preparing for his departure to the Falkland Islands where he will be taking part in a research project that counts towards his master’s degree. He spent yesterday running around like a demented chicken getting everything together and packed ready for an early start today; even worse, he managed to draw me into his panic so that by the time I went to bed I had not had time to pay my daily homage to Blipfoto.
 
Thus it was that, at five o’clock this morning I was preparing my breakfast so that I could get him safely to his early train and on his way. He could be in for a rude shock; his flight takes off from Brize Norton, which means he will be flying in military airspace. As I discovered from my business trips to Farnborough many years ago, the military are not bothered with passenger comfort which can lead to interesting times; I was once on a 6-seater plane that flew through a thunderstorm instead of going over or round it. Happily, after torrential rain when I woke up, the weather is now nice and peaceful; I wonder what it will be like when he returns in three weeks’ time.
 
Mbra was slowly recovering from the New Year celebrations when I dropped Jnr off; with hundreds of workmen and their vehicles charging around clearing up the mess and removing barriers, there were areas that were out of bounds to a humble photographer, and many others that I did venture through but was a little worried about my safety. There were some interesting shots to be had, but first you need to set the camera correctly; this one isn’t too bad and I can return any time to retake - for the others, I’ll need to wait 365 days.
 
Wishing Blippers everywhere a happy New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.