atoll

By atoll

Longfellow, Meet Percy

This is the place. Stand still, my steed,
Let me review the scene,
And summon from the shadowy Past
The forms that once have been.

A Gleam of Sunshine: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow


Well I could never compete with the early morning scenes of many of my subscribed blippers list, living as I do by a main road. However, since starting to blip, I have started taking a 'detour' to fetch the morning papers, and this simply involves crossing the road and walking across the Heath opposite.

Sunday mornings is one of the few times in the year that our road is traffic-less, and so it was this morning. The sun was up as I attended to some temporary dog-sitting duties with the incorrigible Dylan the Labradoodle.

Later, and finally bound for the papers, I spotted the rising sun casting really long shadows over the Heath opposite the Longview Hotel and so took this shot looking down. What I love about this is that at the intersection of shade, and in the crease of a worn-down path, the trampled leaves there have taken on a lillac hue.

What to title it I thought as I admired the shadows? The name 'Longfellow' immediately came to mind, but at almost the same moment I was taking the shot, I suddenly became aware of an arctic nip creeping-in below the waist. Looking down, I realised with horror that all was not ship-shape down there at all. Just out of bed, I had hurriedly 'dressed' commando style in my shorts, and then forgotten to do up my flies.

Fortunately no dog walkers were out just yet, but imagine the possible scandal of flashers on the Heath and the shame brought on MrsB and J if they had been. No damage done though, and no frost-bite to report either. Just as well really.

A shrivelled, lifeless, vacant form,
It lies on my abandoned breast;
And mocks the heart, which yet is warm,
With cold and silent rest.

On a Dead Violet by Percy Bysshe Shelley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.