The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

First frost

Dear Bomble woke me at the usual workday time this morning, though I distinctly remember having switched the light off about five hours earlier, at half past two!

Never mind, I could see that it was a lovely day, but that the windows were collecting condensation inside. When I got to the picture window, I saw the mist spread out over the Golden Valley, with the sun trying to break through. I stood on a chair inside ( too cold to open the door) and got dreadful camera shake. It was not much better with the gorillapod held as a sort of stick, so this is actually the first of the eleven shots. Gladders and his crow sunrise, which hit the spotlight yesterday, must have inspired me to catch this bird at the right moment, though I can't help feeling it that looks as if it's plummeting earthwards. Perhaps there's a silent shooting party in the woods. I hope not.

In fact, we only ever hear shooting on boxing day. The rest of the year it's crowing cockerels, clucking chickens, cheerful chainsaws, and, er, libidinous lawnmowers! and that's just the neighbours on the left!

CleanSteve has gone to Gloucester, but has now been gone so long that I believe he has also gone a-blipping in the countryside. It is a glorious day of autumn sunshine, and I must get outside, at least to the cabin, to take the air before the mists start circling again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.