LightWave

By LightWave

Mockingbird

I can't even post this picture without "Hush little baby, don't say a word/Papa's going to buy you a mockingbird" coming into my head. It'll probably be there all day. Perhaps that's because as a child growing up in England, I had no idea what a mockingbird was, and so my interest was piqued.

I like mockingbirds. They are gregarious and bumptious - not afraid to make their presence felt. They don't hide in the bushes like other birds, but perch on the top of a shrub or a rock or come to ground to drink from, or bathe, in puddles. This makes them easy to photograph! Together with the fact that there seem to be a lot of them around at the moment.

And yes, they sing. I can't help but think that the song would be more realistic if it went "And if that mockingbird won't shut up occasionally"... but that wouldn't scan.

The clouds gave way to a fine rain on my walk this morning. The spider webs became decked out with water drops - always a bit creepy because I don't like spiders and I'd prefer not to know that there are huge orbweavers all over the place and how many I must brush into when I walk off trail. And the egrets? Well, they are there, in the distance, about a dozen of them carousing with the herons, snowies and ducks. Or possibly the other way around.

Belle Isle Marsh, Boston, with the monster lens, hand held.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.