a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Jimi

WideWednesday 03/01/2018: Jimi

"Everyday in the week I'm in a different city
If I stay too long people try to pull me down
They talk about me like a dog
Talkin' about the clothes I wear
But they don't realize they're the ones who's square


And that's why
You can't hold me down
I don't want to be tied down I gotta move


Stone free do what I please
Stone free to ride the breeze
Stone free, baby I can't stay
I got to got to got to get away"

Jimi Hendrix ~ Stone Free 


The Bridge Inn is just a stone's throw from my office - its a lovely little single room boozer on a corner.  It has always had a bit of a music theme going on.  Years ago it had the distinction of having no Juke box but instead it had a turntable and vinyl records.  This was a good 10 years ago, and so well before the current vogue for the renaissance of vinyl.   

They serve good beer and basic pub food. If I didn't need to worry about putting on weight, becoming an alcoholic, damaging my liver, and getting work done in the afternoon it would be a very tempting spot to hang out in for a regular lunch.  As it is, sadly, I manage to visit only infrequently.

In case you are wondering, yes, I have played around with the tones of the sky to emphasise the mono of the fabulous portrait of James Marshall Hendrix.

Many thanks as ever to Bob's Blips for organising Wide Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.