PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Lovely gluten-free breakfast with both my girls at Heaven Scent just outside Kinross.

Trying to eke out the last of the Xmas hols. We always try to make it like a fortnight of Sundays. That was a little bit scuppered by the flu this (last?) year. Lily had to come home from school with it at the end of her last week and then, rather typically, I got it on Xmas Eve through to Boxing Day.

Rachel, having the immune system of someone who will likely survive the apocalypse, soldiered through it with willpower alone. Lily was like a furnace for a couple of days and then seemed to recover fast. I, being least likely to survive more than a couple of days of the end times, had it all; including asthma attacks, days of no more than 90 minutes of nightmarish sleep at any one time, interspersed with weird hallucinatory wakefulness.

Almost worse than all that was what it did to my sense of taste. I thought Lily was just ranting when she complained that everything tasted like "evil cheese". She was not...

We're mostly better now. I've got a lingering cough which my asthma nurse will give me a row about no doubt. Feel like we're all recovering from varying degrees of being hit by a bus, but still, on the mend.

So getting out today was a big deal. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.