A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

getting ink done....

Regular readers will know that I have been contemplating having an existing tattoo on my back, which was done quite ineptly about 4 years ago, converted into something else. Regular readers will also know my fascination with lizards...geckos. salamanders etc. The pic is one of my lizard carvings that I picked up from the night market in Guardamar, near my mums, last summer.

So tonight, to cheer myself up (as I have been feeling lousy for the last 2 days) I went to a reputable tattoo-ists in our town to go and have a chat about what could be done. Nick, one of the tattoo artists, has taken a trace of the existing tattoo and we found a design of a salamander (black with some orange/yellow markings) which will allow him to cover the existing one. The problem with the current one is that it has faded to a nasty blue colour (supposedly a semi-permanent thing - which I have been subsequently advised there's no such thing - they just fade out and go blue and look like old sailors tattoos! Anyway, its not been done well, so there's been bleeding of the edges and to be honest, it looks chavvy!)

So he's going to draw my design and ring in a week so I can go in and have a look, then if I am happy, I'll book in to have it done - so thats going to be my birthday present to myself I think.

I'm sure, despite my rapidly increasing age, both my mum and my dad will be wondering "WHY" and will give disapproving 'tuts' as they read this. Its not a midlife crisis honest - just something that I have wanted done for a while now.

Not blipped the last couple of nights - been pretty down in the dumps thinking of grandad (and also contemplating having to go to Mass on Saturday night - mum, me, my aunt and uncle and my Nana - we go every year on the anniversary of grandad's death to remember, and to support Nana). Also had a headache for 2 days - came home from work yesterday at 3pm (early) and went straight to bed - slept pretty much straight through apart from an hour to have something to eat around 9pm. Teaching 5 straight hours today has been torture and despite ibuprofen, paracetamol and migraleive tables, its still lingering...so off to bed now.

TFI Friday tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.