AT THE RAILWAY PLATFORM IN RHEINE

A day full of train travel. And it started so odd. When we walked over the rail viaduct I suddenly had discovered that I somehow had forgotten to take my bag with me. In a split second I asked Piet Hein for the key of our door and started running back home. I had only 5 minuted and I doubted if I could catch my bag and be back  in time to catch our train.
I ran at first but that would not work, then I walked as fast as I could, and went up the hill on the path with the 102 steps. And then the street, and the steps towards our house, open the door, catched the bag lying innocently on the chair and as fast as I could the same way back. When I came over the viaduct I saw Piet Hein standing and waved. The train had not yet arrived and I did not see it yet coming round the corner.
I had good luck, the train had a delay of two minutes, and when I came on the platform, the train just stopped before us, and I could (a bit out of breath) enter the train with Piet Hein.
The photo shows a later moment of the day. We waited for our connection in Rheine, and I saw this man leaning against a column, reading. The earlier train coming from Berlin, going to Amsterdam had a delay of more then 2 hours, and it was obvious that there were some persons who had want to take this train, had been there or near the station for two hours. We could catch this train too, because our train would have also a delay. A sad accident had happened, a terrible thing.
We arrived in The Hague and took the light rail to Loosduinen.
End good, all good.
Some time later Mischa came to visit us, and prepared a nice meal for the three of us.
So good to see her again. And we had to talk a lot of course.

I have given more silly hearts to Naturelover, pkln, RedDevil, Stiffknees and PamelaJ.

I feel tired of the travel, and I will be happy to have a rest and will catch up tomorrow. So exiting to see the North Sea again and walk along the beach. I intend to have a kind of holliday after all the busy weeks in Germany.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.